You are here

Weird Kid (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Weird Kid Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Superman, meet Invasion of the Body Snatchers. Add comic book heroes, a growly little dog, a bass guitar called Basszilla, excellent butt jokes, and even a kaiju, plop them all in a small Arizona town, and you’ve got Greg van Eekhout’s Weird Kid. In the town of Cedar Creek View, weird things are happening. Sinkholes keep opening up, strange goo found at the site, and people are acting oddly. This is personal for Jake, considering his parents found him as a similar goo glob near their home twelve years earlier and raised him as their very human and totally normal son. As if starting middle school isn’t tough enough when you aren’t an alien, along with his smart and intense new friend Agnes who is training to become like the hero in one of her favorite comic books, Jake must find out what is going on with these sinkholes, why people are acting so weird...and he has to learn how to embrace his own weirdness. This book is laugh out loud clever, fun, suspenseful, and endlessly sweet. It’s about the power of kindness and of weirdness, and it’s about surrounding yourself with people who accept you as you are, even if you are an alien. It’s a love letter to all of us little weirdos.

— From Karen's Picks

Description


From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb.

Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.

Keeping his powers in check is crucial, though, if he wants to live a normal life and go to middle school instead of being homeschooled (and if he wants to avoid being kidnapped and experimented on, of course).

Things feel like they’re going his way when he survives his first day of school without transforming and makes a new friend. But when mysterious sinkholes start popping up around town—sinkholes filled with the same extraterrestrial substance as Jake—and his neighbors, classmates, and even his family start acting a little, well, weird, Jake will have to learn to use his powers in order to save his town. 

About the Author


Greg van Eekhout lives in San Diego, California, with his astronomy/physics professor wife and two dogs. He’s worked as an educational software developer, ice-cream scooper, part-time college instructor, and telemarketer. Being a writer is the only job he’s ever actually liked. You can find more about Greg at his website: www.writingandsnacks.com.

Praise For…


"Impeccably toned middle school humor, paired with action-packed hijinks and a poignant extended metaphor about finding one’s identity, results in a heartfelt, pitch-perfect middle grade novel."
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A wacky, witty, action-packed alien adventure with a poignant message about being your best self.”
— John David Anderson, author of Posted

“Greg van Eekhout brings magic, mystery, humor, and weird science to his wonderful WEIRD KID! Devious and fun –and highly recommended!” 

— Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin 

"No one mixes gonzo with heartfelt like Greg van Eekhout. Amid wacky aliens, secret organizations, and larger-than-life guitar solos, is one kid just trying to figure out who he is. I was rooting for Jake on every page, and you will be, too!"
— Jenn Reese, author of A Game of Fox & Squirrels

"Exciting and intriguing twist on science-fiction tropes. A standout SF adventure.” 
Kirkus Reviews

"A rewarding story with a protagonist who lives up to the title and then some...hilarious."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for Cog: “A page-turning novel of friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Cog is a gem of a robot, and his robotic observations are comedic gold. Readers will be charmed by this sci-fi tale of free choice, hot dogs, and fun word problems.”
Booklist

“Van Eekhout brings considerable heart and wisdom to this coming-of-age tale. A thought-provoking tale for younger readers about hubris and what it means to be human.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Voyage of the Dogs: “Fast-moving, funny, and suspenseful. A deep-space furry adventure with heart and humor.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Who’s a good boy? Lopside and the canine crew of the starship Laika! This dogs in space romp will make you sit up and beg for more.”
— Alan Gratz, New York Times bestselling author of Refugee

“A crackling page-turner about courage and wonder, full of warmth and heart and characters who jump off the page. It’s my favorite book of the year.”
— Rae Carson, New York Times  bestselling author of the Girl of Fire & Thorns series

“Dogs in space? Who knew we needed that? But Greg van Eekhout proves we did! Voyage of the Dogs  is a delight, and kids are going to love it.”
— Spencer Quinn, New York Times  bestselling author of Woof

“Dog-lovers and space enthusiasts will gravitate to Van Eekhout’s riveting book.”
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062970602
ISBN-10: 0062970607
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 27th, 2021
Pages: 208
Language: English