You are here

The Dog Lived (and So Will I) (Paperback)

The Dog Lived (and So Will I) Cover Image
$14.99
Email or call for price.

Description


The #1 New York Times bestseller
The #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller
USA Today bestseller

"Funny, smart, uplifting, and fun, The Dog Lived (and So Will I) reminds us that animals are among our best teachers, our most powerful healers, and our most steadfast friends. I loved it!"—Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig

The tale of a dog who wouldn't let go and the woman who followed his lead.

Teresa Rhyne vowed to get things right this time around: new boyfriend, new house, new dog, maybe even new job. But shortly after she adopted Seamus, a totally incorrigible beagle, vets told Teresa that he had a malignant tumor and less than a year to live. The diagnosis devastated her, but she decided to fight it, learning everything she could about the best treatment for Seamus. Teresa couldn't possibly have known then that she was preparing herself for life's next hurdle — a cancer diagnosis of her own.

She forged ahead with survival, battling a deadly disease, fighting for doctors she needed, and baring her heart for a seemingly star–crossed relationship. The Dog Lived (and so Will I) is an uplifting and heartwarming story about how dogs steal our hearts, show us how to live, and teach us how to love.

A heartwarming, hilarious book about dogs, relationships and surviving life's challenges with humor and grace is perfect for fans of Marley and Me, The Middle Place and A Dog's Purpose will love this touching memoir.

Other books by Teresa Rhyne:
Dogs Were Rescued (And So Was I)

What readers are saying about The Dog Lived (And So Will I):

"infused with emotional moments and even more so with humor. The book is a wonderful mixture of it all."

"As much as this book is about thriving, not just surviving, during cancer, it is also a love story written to the beagle."

"A wonderfully poignant memoir straight from the heart"

"like "Marley and Me", but much better."

"INCREDIBLE - heartwarming, sad, funny, stressful and comforting all at once."

"A true gem for any dog lover and anyone who either has had cancer or knows/has known someone with cancer - which let's face it - is everyone."

"THIS MEMOIR IS WHAT ALL OTHER MEMOIRS SHOULD ASPIRE TO."

What reviewers are saying about The Dog Lived (And So Will I):

"This poignant and fast–moving memoir...is proof that even a hard–charging lawyer is no match for a big–hearted beagle." —Martin Kihn, author ofBad Dog (A Love Story)

"...encouraging tale of finding love and love in unexpected places..."—Publishers Weekly

"A book that dares to be honest and sad and hilarious all at once."—Susan Conley, author of The Foremost Good Fortune

About the Author


Teresa Rhyne is an animal advocate and breast cancer survivor. She lives in the Los Angeles area with her boyfriend Chris, and their two beagles, Daphne and Percival. She is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Dog Lived (And So Will I) and The Dogs Were Rescued (And So Was I).

Praise For…


"Breast cancer survivors will surely appreciate the humor and strength found in this story" — Life After 50

"This is a wonderful memoir allowing the reader to experience the highs and lows of both author Teresa Rhyne's and beagle Seamus' cancer battle. " — Red Room

"Her book is a great read, humorous, real and interesting, and I am pretty sure you do not have to be a cancer survivor to enjoy it. " — But Doctor...I Hate Pink

"This book does a great thing--it shows us how to make room in our lives for disease and then to get on with the important business at hand--falling madly in love and spoiling a beloved dog rotten. It's a book that dares to be honest and sad and hilarious all at once. It will help inspire many people to respond to the unexpected in their own lives with humor and grace." — Susan Conley, author of The Foremost Good Fortune

"Teresa Rhyne takes those darkest moments of their lives, and injects into them a sense of hope, possibility, positivity, and yes, even humour! It's hard to not crack a smile with some of the descriptions within the pages, whether it's the canine antics of the lovable rogue Seamus, or the hilarious criticisms of the health system and their fondness for nausea-inducing holiday decor." — The Literary Word

"Funny, smart, uplifting and fun, The Dog Lived (And So Will I) reminds us that animals are among our best teachers, our most powerful healers, and our most steadfast friends. This unforgettable story of an irrepressible beagle, a tough lawyer and her unlikely boyfriend will make you cry a little and laugh a lot. Whether you're facing a scary illness or just a blah Monday, this book is good medicine. I loved it." — Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig

"When you read The Dog Lived and So Will I, you will make a new friend in Teresa, only you'll feel like you're one of Teresa's oldest and dearest friends as you get to know her. Reading this book is like sitting down in your jammies with one of your best friends as you catch up on what each has been up to over a bottle of wine in front of the fire. " — Fit As Fido

"I enjoyed how the author tackled such a heavy subject with humor," says Tara. "And Seamus's antics kept me laughing through to the end. Sure, I shed a few tears, but the payoff was worth it. Witnessing the bond between Rhyne and Seamus deepen as they both fight their battles was beautiful. " — FIRST for Women

"Author Teresa J. Rhyne had plenty of reason to whine throughout her cancer months; in fact, considering what she endured, readers could be forgiven for wondering how much one woman can handle. The good news is, Rhyne bears it with a grin that's infectious. Her book is filled with have-to=laugh-or-you'd-cry moments and is refreshingly lacking in Poor-Me. That makes it readable, enjoyable, and surprisingly supportive to cancer patients, both two-legged and four-legged." — Bookworm Sez (Leader Times)

"Lawyer turned author Teresa Rhyne draws you immediately in through her open, honest, and vivid writings about love, cancer, and her very loved beagle Seamus...This is a true story of a survivor that will leave you wanting more." — Book Bargains and Previews

"A heart-warming story of hope and love. " — Grand Forks Herald Online

"A story about the courage to confront the adversities we all encounter and about love, both human and canine, and the strength love gives us to go on." — Larry Levin, New York Times bestselling author of Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love

"This poignant and fast-moving memoir of Teresa and Seamus -- both definitely Type A personalities -- is proof that even a hard-charging lawyer is no match for a big-hearted beagle. Their mutual triumph over terrible trials is a testament to the healing power of dogs. Four paws up!" — Martin Kihn, author of Bad Dog (A Love Story)

"It's a frank and honest, upbeat tale about the power of love, friendship and tenacity necessary to face life's perplexing challenges with grace, a depth of inner strength and a good sense of humor. " — Booktrib

"Kudos to the writer for honestly divulging her sometimes unfettered fears, tearful thoughts and comical reactions to the big "C" word that infiltrates so many of our lives. " — Bookpleasures.com

"This encouraging tale of finding love and hope in unexpected places is full of small yet valuable life lessons that any animal-lover would appreciate." — Publishers Weekly

"This book is a testimony of Love and Life, of how seemingly unrelated incidents can lead to total transformation of lives over time...This is a warm, feel good book that will make us wonder at Life's inscrutable ways of working." — Bookpleasures

"Honest, funny, and a compelling story of courage and triumph not only over cancer, but one's own demons, The Dog Lived (and So Will I) is a book that is sure to capture your heart. " — Story Circle Book Reviews

"Teresa's memoir is sad and hilarious all at once, showcasing the love a human can have for their canine best friend and the attitude that can make or break a life -- or, in this case, two lives." — Anokhi Magazine

"The title gives away the ending, but, as always in life, it's the journey that matters. Teresa and Seamus battle their diseases, giving each other love-and the grace that makes life worthwhile." — Cesar's Way

"This breezy, heartfelt, and funny memoir walks the reader through all of the emotional and medical stages of cancer, both canine and human, making an awful situation infinitely readable and hopeful. Give this one to anyone going through cancer treatment—the title alone tells it all." — Booklist

"'The Dog Lived: (And So Will I)' is a moving read of coping with cancer, strongly recommended for pet lovers who have faced their own struggles in life." — Midwest Book Review

"A rollicking tale of how hound and owner beat the odds and thrived." — More.com

"A memoir celebrating friendship, hope, and the incredibly powerful human-animal bond, The Dog Lived (and So Will I) is a remarkable story that you'll adore from start to finish. " — Tails Inc.

"This delightfully wisecracking memoir will renew the spirits of cancer survivors as well as dog lovers. For health and pet collections." — Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781402271724
ISBN-10: 1402271727
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication Date: October 1st, 2012
Pages: 288
Language: English