You are here

Nocturna (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Nocturna Cover Image
$21.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


In a Latinx land where colonizers once banned magic and subjugated the people, the Castallan have retaken their land, reintroduced their way of life, and returned their magic to the land. But rebels have used wielders of magic to banish the crown prince to a great void and the surviving royal family, especially the prince's brother Alfie, cannot give up hope of finding a way to him. But when Alfie accidentaly releases the darkest of magic into the world, only the strength of Finn, a thief who will teach him much about his kingdom and himself, and his own loyalty and character will help him stop the evil. If you get a chance to listen to this on Libro.fm, it is read by Kyla Garcia and her performance is completely brilliant (consider that subtle distinction between the way a loved one would say "mija" and the same word issuing from one whose intentions are evil - it'll give you chills). 

— Linda

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“Maya Motayne’s Nocturna is the fantasy that you have been waiting for. With the sneaky cleverness of Stephanie Gaber’s Caraval and the moral grayness of Marissa Meyer’s Renegades, Nocturna offers up a tale of a brother in search of a way to save his kingdom, and a girl doing all she can to survive. This tale set in a Latin-inspired world provides just the right amount of magic and adventure, as heir-to-the-throne Alfie and shape-shifter Finn race to stop the terrible darkness they have released.”
— Jen Pino, Vroman's Bookstore, Pasadena, CA

Description


The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy--set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world--about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab.

To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her...and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks.

As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.

After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can't help but feel that he will never live up to his brother's legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

But when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power--which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan's fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781432879082
ISBN-10: 1432879081
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Striving Reader
Publication Date: September 9th, 2020
Language: English