You are here

The Boy Who Was Buried This Morning (A Dave Brandstetter Mystery #11) (Paperback)

The Boy Who Was Buried This Morning (A Dave Brandstetter Mystery #11) By Joseph Hansen Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now


When a paintball player gets hit with a real bullet, Dave Brandstetter catches the case.

Insurance investigator Dave Brandstetter has spent the last few years drifting in and out of retirement. For the sake of his boyfriend, Cecil, he has attempted to forgo dangerous jobs. But when a close friend’s death sends Dave into a depressive funk, Cecil recognizes that work is the only cure. 
During a high-stakes paintball game, a hardcore supremacist gets hit by a very real bullet. Although the police claim the death was accidental - nothing but a stray round from a nearby hunting preserve - Dave knows that a man this hated seldom dies by chance. His investigation takes him into the strange world of make-believe war - a grown-up version of cowboys and Indians whose players sometimes have trouble distinguishing fantasy from reality. If Dave isn’t careful, he’ll find himself stained with something more permanent than paint.

About the Author

Joseph Hansen (1923–2004) was the author of more than twenty-five novels, including the twelve groundbreaking Dave Brandstetter mystery novels. The winner of the 1992 Lifetime AchievementAward from the Private Eye Writers of America, Hansen was also the author of A Smile in His Lifetime, Living Upstairs, Job's Year, and Bohannon's Country. He was a two-time Lambda LiteraryAward-winner.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781681990675
ISBN-10: 1681990679
Publisher: Soho Syndicate
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 186
Language: English
Series: A Dave Brandstetter Mystery