You are here

Indie Bookstore Day 2020

Order Bookstore Day exclusive items here starting August 29!

Normally celebrated on the last Saturday of April, this year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic that affected most in our industry, Independent Bookstore Day is happening on the last Saturday in August. In order to keep our beloved community members safe, we're celebrating online!

This Indie Bookstore Day, we want to hear from you. Do you have snapshots of a favorite event we've hosted? Or a picture you took of your kids reading a book purchased from us? How about creative ways you've repurposed your ridiculously huge collection of Cellar Door bookmarks? Share your memories, order unboxings, book club happenings, and storytime pics with us on social media. Use the hashtag #bookstoreday2020 and be sure to tag us so we can share with the whole Cellar Door community all day long! Plus, posts that tag us and use the official hashtag will be entered into a raffle for a FREE giveaway prize!

Facebook: @cellardoorriv  |  Instagram: @cellardoorbookstore  |  Twitter: @cellardoor_12

Prizes: Dragon Hoops Print signed by Gene Luen Yang, The Read for Joy Journal, and Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid IBD Tote

See below for the exclusive books and art pieces for Bookstore Day 2020. These limited edition, unique items will be available to order online or by phone on August 29th. And when they're gone, they're gone. 

 

Pre-Order in Print, Get an Audiobook for Free

On August 29th only, when you pre-order these print books from us, you'll also receive either the audiobook version or another bestselling audiobook from that author, courtesy of Libro.fm!

Just email hello@libro.fm with your receipt (a picture of the physical receipt or the email purchase confirmation, which must include a purchase date of 8/29/20), and Libro.fm will send you an email to redeem your free audiobook. Learn more!

 

Virtual Events

A fun and interactive drawing demonstration with illustrator and author Lisa Brown.

10 am PT / 1 pm ET

Graphic novel discussion and drawing class with Gene Luen Yang.

10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET

Middle Grade Fun with Renee Watson and illustrator Nina Mata with moderator Isaac Fizgerald.

11 am PT / 2 pm ET

Join bestselling YA fantasy authors Kat Cho, Rena Barron, and Rebecca Kim Wells.

12 pm PT / 3 pm ET

Explore the very near future with Amor Towles as he reads from his story You Have Arrived at Your Destination.

1 pm PT / 4 pm ET

Join authors Reyna Grande, Rishi Reddi, and Lauren Francis-Sharma as they discuss reexamining the history, culture, and myths of the West through their fiction.

2 pm PT / 5 pm ET

Join co-hosts Jennifer Haupt and Garth Stein for readings and conversations with Alone Together contributing authors Gayle Brandeis, Luis Alberto Urrea, and more.

3 pm PT / 6 pm ET

Join three of IBD's past Author Ambassadors for a lively discussion of books, bookstores, and the writing life.

5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

 

Event date: 
Saturday, August 29, 2020 - 10:00am
Event address: 
5225 Canyon Crest Dr.
#30A
Riverside, CA 92507
$5.99
SKU: 596060530109654

Poems of Resistance, Poems of Hope Cover Image
$6.00
ISBN: 9781732970427
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: IBD Publishing - April 1st, 2020

The Art of Protest Postcards (Set of 4) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781632890597
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Independent Bookstore Day - April 25th, 2020

 Dav Pilkey’s Reversible SUPA CAPE Cover Image
ISBN: 9781338677744
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Scholastic - April 1st, 2020

 Not Quite Narwhal (kids tote bag) Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781534472174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 25th, 2020

The Last Story of Mina Lee Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778310174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Park Row - September 1st, 2020

His Only Wife Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616209155
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - September 1st, 2020

The Awkward Black Man Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802149565
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - September 15th, 2020

Shit, Actually: The Definitive, 100% Objective Guide to Modern Cinema Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316449823
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hachette Books - October 20th, 2020

The Best of Me Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316628242
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - November 3rd, 2020

Homeland Elegies: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316496421
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 15th, 2020

Goldfish Ghost Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626725072
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - May 2nd, 2017

Dragon Hoops Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626720794
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - March 17th, 2020

Ways to Make Sunshine (A Ryan Hart Novel #1) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547600564
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 28th, 2020

I Promise Cover Image
By LeBron James, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062971067
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 11th, 2020

How to Be a Pirate Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681197784
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

Wicked Fox Cover Image
By Kat Cho
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984812360
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - July 21st, 2020

Kingdom of Souls Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062870964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - August 11th, 2020

Shatter the Sky (The Shatter the Sky Duology) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781534437913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143110439
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - March 26th, 2019

The Distance Between Us: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781451661781
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Washington Square Press - March 12th, 2013

Passage West: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780060898793
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - April 21st, 2020

Book of the Little Axe Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802129369
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - May 12th, 2020

Alone Together: Love, Grief, and Comfort in the Time of COVID-19 Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781771682282
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Central Avenue Publishing - September 1st, 2020

An American Marriage (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616208684
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - February 5th, 2019

Florida Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594634529
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 21st, 2019

All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020